By default, Edge browser restores all tabs when you restart it after a crash or simple system shut down. This can be frustrating especially when your computer can be used by other persons who are able to see your last browsing history. Unfortunately Microsoft forgot to make easy to turn this feature off.
First of all to unable auto recover feature you should have open Edge’s Settings
and define the content which Edge opens with. It can be anything but not ‘Previous pages’. I have set Specific page – bing.com as you can see above.
Unfortunately this setting is not enough. Obviously when you close Edge and reopen it, it won’t restore previously open tabs, but if you shut down the system and don’t close Edge before, It will restore again all tabs after restart.
To prevent this behaviour you must edit the windows registry.:
- Press Win+S to open Windows 10 search feature and type regedit
- Launch regedit and find a key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft
- Enter new key MicrosoftEdge and its sub-key Recovery as you can see on the picture below:
- Add new DWORD (32 bits) value inside the Recovery key
- Give a name AutoRecover to this new value and set its value to 2 as you can see on the next picture below